top of page

Reading to Destress

From our absence, you can tell we have been quite busy. With the beginning of school, time becomes short, and we have to start prioritizing and rearranging schedules to get almost everything done in a day or week. In order to combat the stress that comes with our work and daily responsibilities, we have to find ways to deal with the stress.

I have really enjoyed the start of this school year, working with teachers and students, and getting into my daily duties, projects, conversations, and more. I am under no more stress than any other year, but to help unwind after a crazy busy day, I have tried to add more reading. Reading for pleasure has included Landline by Rainbow Rowell, The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman, and Beautiful Oblivion by Jamie McGuire (book 3 in the Maddox Brothers series), and I’m about to start Where She Went by Gayle Forman, the sequel to If I Stay. As for professional reading, I reread The Art and Science of Teaching by Robert Marzano this summer. I now have several professional books started: High-Impact Instruction: A Framework for Great Teaching by Jim Knight and Notice & Note: Strategies for Close Reading by Kylene Beers and Robert E. Probst. I am fairly certain there is/are at least one or two more professional books on my desk too.

At lunch, the ladies with whom I eat have been discussing different books. One suggested was The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty. They said they liked it better than Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, which I loved. I think I will be adding it to my list.

What books have you been reading lately?

This post was written by Micheal J. Kessner, Ed.D.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Black Square
  • Twitter Black Square
  • Google+ Black Square
bottom of page